First Sightings

It is day four and I am finally getting over the jet leg, grasping an understanding of public transportation, and dealing with the cold. I have encountered things I expected like the immense amount of bikes and breath taking architecture and the unexpected – how difficult grocery shopping is in another language. I have been settling in into my new home in Nørrebro and exploring the diverse neighborhood. The picture taken is a statue I came across in the center of the borough. The heart is formed by many guns throughout the ages collected from the neighborhood. “We want to live together” is inscribed in many different languages. This statue struck me as a simplistic yet powerful statement and piece of art. I can’t wait to discover more of these hidden gems in the city.

Today, DIS organized a fun exploration of some of the landmarks in Copenhagen. Each stop had a professor who gave us some valuable information about the area and it’s history. I got the chance to learn about Skuespilhuset (The Royal Danish Playhouse) which is on the on the harbour front in the Frederiksstaden neighborhood. Our next stop was the Christiansborg Slotsplads ( The Christiansborg Palace Square). We even made it in time to see the changing of the guard! Nyhavn, the classic google image of Copenhagen, was the following site. To end our adventure we saw the Folketinget, Denmark’s Parliament. To top off the day some friends and I checked out the Round Tower for beautiful views of the city at night. It was also hosting an exhibition from the museum of broken relationships, a unique display of personal stories. Check out some photos from today in the photo gallery!

All in all, I am getting my bearings as I start to navigate the city. I am ready to start classes and get into a routine!

fullsizerender-1

Night views of the city from the Round Tower

Leave a Reply

